History of Maple Dale.
The current location of Maple Dale Country Club has a rich history intertwined with the early history of Delaware. The land was known as Virgin Choice when Jane Bartlett took it up in 1681. The original deed, dated 1684 and signed by William Penn, assigned “Foxhall in the County of Kent” to John Reynolds for a yearly stipend of one bushel of wheat per 100 acres of land. Purchased in 1708 by Owen David of Wales with his father-in-law, the Foxhall Tract included an area of land from Hazletville Road north to Denney’s Road.
Maple Dale Country Club is located on the home site of a descendant of the David family. One of the original structures remains as a personal residence and faces the 16th green and 17th tee. The Ridgely family purchased the property in 1776.
In 1922 Daniel O. Hastings constructed a three-hole golf course on his property, known as Maple Dale Farm, located on the corner of Route 8 and Kenton Road. Expanded to nine holes and designed by R. H. Johnson of Wilmington, the course was leased by a newly formed golf club.
In 1967, The Board of Directors purchased the current 158-acre site and built an eighteen-hole golf course, clubhouse, swimming pool and tennis courts. The first nine holes opened in 1969, the remaining in 1970. Russell Roberts of Silver Springs, Maryland built the golf course. In 1996, a complete renovation and expansion doubled the total capacity of the clubhouse. Terry Jackson was the architect, with project management performed by board members Dan Krausz and Larry McAllister.
Today, Maple Dale Country Club uses its growing regional prominence to play host to a number of important social events each year, as well as offering some of the best golfing available in the area.